Skip to content

Moments when I feel really old

April 22, 2008

*I’m driving around with our 24 year old babysitter and “Every Little Thing She Does is Magic” comes on the radio.  “Oooh!  That’s the song from ‘Nanny McPhee’!  You know, that’s an OLD band and they recently reunited to go on tour.  I think they’re coming to the US soon!”  This after I bought my 4th set of tickets to see The Police, a band I first saw in high school, eons ago.

*Said babysitter is going through my iTunes account and asks who is “Inks”?  After some “who’s on first” back and forth, I patiently explain INXS to her, and detail how Michael Hutchence was the definition of sexy, and one of the few on earth who should always wear leather pants.

*Again, same babysitter, buys new R.E.M. off of iTunes.  “Do they have other CDs?”  Yes, about 20 more, dating back to when I first saw them BEFORE YOU WERE BORN.

Sigh.  Aging rapidly here.  Wait till I have these conversations with the kids.  It’s going to be even worse.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. rbtroj permalink
    April 22, 2008 9:14 am

    That’s hilarious! Just this morning, while driving into the city with my dad (72) I remarked to him that I always catch myself reading stories about people in the news who are, oh, 40 or 41 (whatever) and thinking “ah, an adult – not a youngster like me”.

    Then I remember that 40 is about 10^0 years away for me.

  2. April 22, 2008 11:21 am

    Great post Ellen! We’re on the same page today. I love the Inks VS INXS. How much did I love them? Check out my post on Walkmans today. Talk about feeling old. I don’t care though. I’m walking the dog with my walkman today.

  3. April 22, 2008 3:45 pm

    I remember having an awful morning at work one day and going out at lunch and hearing three J. Geils songs in a row. Must have been Three for Thursday here in Boston.

    Anyway, I got back to the office and a co-worker asked if I was feeling better. “Oh yes, I just cranked up J. Geils’ House Party and I am feeling way better.”

    My office mate said, “They’re like an oldies band, right?”

  4. darci permalink
    April 22, 2008 5:36 pm

    My computer screen must now be cleaned as I spewed water all over it, while reading this.

    I have never heard a better description that completely encapsulates Michael Hutchence’s persona. I must do the same thing with Bri every week. Thanks for the laugh!

  5. April 22, 2008 7:25 pm

    Wow Ellen, I didn’t realize how old you are. Hey, is AARP membership as good as my grandparents say it is?…

  6. Michael Lombardi permalink
    April 23, 2008 10:00 am

    Ellen and Barbara,
    Some people are just clueless regardless of age. I’m not a fan of The Police, INXS, or J Geils Band, but I know who they are. I’m only a little older than your babysitter. I also know who Captain & Tenille, KC & The Sunshine Band, and Sonny & Cher are and they’re older…

    To me not knowing who REM is like not knowing who Bach is.

    (and I don’t like REM either :-p )

    I’m trying not to rant; but it’s not funny, it’s just sad.

  7. Michael Lombardi permalink
    April 23, 2008 12:59 pm

    God smitted me for that last post. On my way back from lunch Captain & Tenille was on the radio. Oh well, at least it wasn’t “Muskrat Love”.

  8. Said Babysitter permalink
    April 24, 2008 8:02 pm

    I never said I don’t like R.E.M.(I was only waiting since Febuary to get my fingers on their new album…)
    I am just slightly disadvantaged not having grown up in this country and with that kind of music.
    And on top of that, I admit it, I am terrible with names (of people, bands, songs,…). I have always trouble tracking down songs I like, since I can never find out the names of them.
    But here, I got one: Do you know STS, No Angels, Hubert von Goisern, Falco or Reinhard Fendrich?

  9. April 24, 2008 8:17 pm

    Falco? Yes. I believe I have you to thank for Falco appearing on my iTunes most played list. In fact, I was suprised that Falco is even on there.

  10. April 25, 2008 5:27 am

    My teen age son, loves to crank up the radio in the car to some sort of unidentifiable station that plays this music that sounds like vocal chords and all kinds of veins are being popped. Sheer and utter screaming, that is when I feel really old but not deaf. Not deaf yet.
    We call it scream-O music.

  11. April 25, 2008 2:29 pm

    Ahem, for the record, Mr. Wikert is MUCH older than me. So much so, that I feel it only natural to call him “Mister”. Just like you would your MUCH OLDER TEACHER.

Leave a Reply

