Skip to content

My point, and I do have one

April 18, 2008

Last week, we had IT Boy’s monthly collaborative meeting.  “Monthly” would be a stretch, because the first one was in February and we never got coordinated enough to repeat in March, so we made it in April.  The meeting itself was functional, but most of the news out of it was that Boy had not hit any major milestones in the two months between meetings.  PT was talking about going up a day, and so was Speech.  BTW, I’m fine on the first one, but think Speech 4 times a week is a bit much.  Just MHO.  Anyhow, it wasn’t exactly an upper, and I was grateful I was working from home the day after the meeting so I could decompress a bit and really think about milestones. 

There are several that we’ve wanted to see from him.  Walking, certainly, is a big one.  Pointing has been another.  12 months is the timetable for that, and he’s way past that.  They say it’s more of an OT issue, but there is some cognitive delay behind that as well.  More words would be nice, but boy does he say BALL loud and clear, and with force! 

The day after the meeting, I was in a store with him in a shopping cart, when I turned to put something in a cart, he was pointing at a flag in a display.  Pointing, clear as day.  And like that, out of no where, he’s been pointing at everything ever since. 

Today, he took 4 steps between me and the PT.  He did it twice.  She screamed she was so thrilled.  It wasn’t like he got up to make the steps – we did have to steady him a bit, but when he was in the groove, off he went.  When we tried to make it a 3rd time, he walked like I did during the vertigo episode, but it gave me hope.

I’m not saying that everyone is wrong, and now everything is ok with him.  Far from it, he still needs all the therapies he’s been given as he is anywhere from 5-6 months behind in most areas of development.  But I am saying that when you think it’s pitch dark around you, don’t miss a spark coming out of the darkness, and take it for what it is.  Hope.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2008 8:05 am

    Reading this reminds me that in this life, one can take nothing for granted, as it truly boils down to the smallest of things. The little things that make life worth living.
    Hope springs eternal.
    Happy day.

  2. April 20, 2008 7:51 pm

    Congrats to IT Boy on his latest achievements…and, they are achievements, big ones.

  3. Shauna permalink
    April 21, 2008 10:01 am

    Go IT Boy!

  4. April 21, 2008 6:01 pm

    I have been thinking about this since I first read about your son and want to thank you for being open about it, as I think that is a real service. We went through some different problems, but I can relate to the angst that it causes and everyone should know that there usually is free service and early intervention is important.

    I had some friends who used it in California and had great results with kids who were slow to speak and I wish I had known about it before my child was 3 for some of the different challenges that we were working with. We had to pay for most of the PT and it gets expensive.

    I do not know much about hypotonia, but I have known several people with highly gifted children who also had hypotonia. If you go to Amazon there is a woman called “Laura from China” who has a boy with this challenge who is also profoundly gifted. She is English, married to an American, and I mention her because she is kind and wise and perhaps could give you some ideas/reassurance about this path as she has been on it for a while.

    Do you know about the Eides and their blog ( http://www.eideneurolearningblog.blogspot.com/) ? They are really wonderful people who have done wonders for children with challenges (we have used them), although at the moment they are going through their own challenge as their young daughter has cancer.

    If this is not helpful to you, just ignore it, but I hope it might help some. I celebrate IT boys success!

  5. sara permalink
    April 21, 2008 8:22 pm

    go IT boy go! He’ll have to teach Gus a few things at their playdate – first, Gus is learning self-defense:)

  6. April 25, 2008 2:25 pm

    Thanks for the kind thoughts, and for the blog suggestion, soultraveler3. I will definitely check it out!

Leave a Reply

