Skip to content

Help Desk Incident resolved!

April 14, 2008

Well, it didn’t take that long (ok, 3 days) for our help desk to get back to me and fix my Notes so that it reflects when I am actually at work.  Last week, they sent up D., the IT guy to do the job.  I’m sure it was under duress on his part.  You see, D. and I have a long history. 

When he first came to my office 6 months ago to fix my laptop, something was off.  He’s well dressed (I think he even had a tie on that day) and well groomed (smelled VERY nice).  He’s polite and speaks in full sentences – of course he’s not from IT!  He’s a CORPORATE SPY!  And he dressed like he was coming to work at the financial services firm that’s in our building…one of the many mistakes that gave him away!

I figured, finally, after years of working on social engineering books that present scenarios of the guy from IT who ISN’T REALLY FROM IT AND IS LOOKING TO BREAK INTO OUR NETWORK AND STEAL ALL OF OUR SECRETS OF PUBLISHING I have finally found myself in one.  It’s my moment!  I glowed, thinking of the glory that would soon come my way because I caught the internationally known black hat hacker who was terrorizing Interpol and vowed he would never be caught.  I triumphantly called IT to turn THE JACKAL (I gave him a code name in all of this) in.

Well, you all know how that ended up.  He worked for IT.  He still works for IT.  And, he thinks I’m crazy.  So the one guy who can solve all my tech problems is alternately offended by/afraid of me.  That’s just me, overthinking things as usual.  I’ll just be off in the corner on my doghouse/sopwith camel looking for the Red Barron. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. darci permalink
    April 14, 2008 11:28 am

    Don’t feel bad, Ellen. My IT people are terrified of me, too.

    Of course, it’s for different reasons…

  2. April 14, 2008 3:52 pm

    Ellen, you should totally give The Jackal a copy of Kevin’s first book. He’ll understand why you seem crazy to people that haven’t been prepped before meeting you, or maybe he’ll learn how to use his natural attributes to infiltrate that financial services company in your building.

  3. April 15, 2008 8:17 am

    Whatever happened to us just thingking that someone dressing nice to our workplace meant that they had an interview that day????

  4. April 16, 2008 11:27 pm

    I just remember the time I called your (then my) help desk to tell them my computer was making a loud ticking noise and was it safe to bring it on a business trip the next day. I held the phone next to the computer so the recording would capture the scary ticking. BUT ONE MONTH WENT BY BEFORE THE GUY SHOWED UP! I could have been blown to smithereens…

    By the time the guy appeared, I’d forgotten I’d even called. I asked quite gently if they even bothered to keep a log of the anguished calls received asking for help. He alleged that they did. However, he did not say what their response goals were, so I imagined the whole (quite large crew) sitting around howling with laughter as they listened to all the anguished messages but never bothered to pick up the phone to actually…help.

Leave a Reply

