Skip to content

BlogHer Business Day 2

April 7, 2008

Day two of BlogHer Business split off into two parallel tracks, one on social media creation, and one on social media outreach.  I first went to the “Outreach” session, but I might have been better served in the “Creation” panel discussion instead, especially since Wiley author and babe extraordinaire. Susannah Gardner was moderating.  I saw a couple of tweets that showed there might be more applicability for me in the other session.  Not that the Outreach one was bad – far from it.  I learned a lot about authenticity and transparency and heard some good examples of how it’s been put into play in dealing with reputation management (Calling Andy Beal!). 

After lunch, I headed upstairs to “Overcoming Internal Objections 101” – this was a super panel.  Lena West showed you can be professional at what you do and still keep a sense of humor about yourself – I’d work with her ANY day.  Yvonne Divita and Margaret Gurowitz inspired me with their tales of creating blogs in a corporate culture that was slow to embrace them.

The next session was just as amazing.  “Beyond Blogging – Social Media Creation Best Practices” gave me more inspiration.  All the panelists were wonderful, but I have to give a shoutout to the charming and endearing Connie Reece who got to spread the word about the Frozen Pea Fund to an eager audience.  I wish this session didn’t run at the same time as “We Don’t Know What To Do With You,” which tackled how marketers are ignoring with women outside the young, white mom demographic.   I had to do a Sophie’s Choice between the two panels, and that hurt.  I heard really good feedback from that panel, so I’m hoping the topic will come up again at BlogHer this summer

Overall, it was two days that amazed, inspired and motivated me and the hundred of others who attended.  In my next post, I’m going to talk about how this conference made me totally discount and question why I attended SXSW at all.  GREAT job to Jory, Lisa, Elisa, Kristy and the whole gang at BlogHer.  GOOD SHOW! 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 10:55 am

    Thanks for the insight! I’m going to try to get there next year.

  2. April 7, 2008 11:16 am

    You’re just making sure I’m monitoring mentions of “Andy Beal” aren’t you. 😉

  3. April 7, 2008 11:50 am

    I think my biggest take aways from this conference are very small, but very important. It’s such an overwhelming space in the social media world but 2 important things to remember are 1) some presence is better than no presence and 2) outreach can be equally effective on a small scale. Remembering these helped me get through the panels without screaming “of course outreach works with mommy bloggers, they’re loud and proud!” I wish geeks were loud and proud.

  4. April 7, 2008 12:01 pm

    Reputation monitoring is your thing, isn’t it ANDY BEAL?!?

    Good feedback Alison. I think the biggest takeaway is that they are teaching techniques, and hopefully we can find ways to apply them to what we are working with. I have to find you a “young, hip, single, non-sexandthecity” conference….

    BusyMom – I will see you in San Francisco, tho, right?

  5. April 8, 2008 12:48 am

    Thanks for the shout-out, Ellen, and for choosing our panel. I also hated to miss the “We Don’t Know What to Do with You” session. I’m hoping they make the videos availablel

  6. April 14, 2008 12:00 am

    “babe,” huh? it’s official: i AM your biggest fan.

    thanks for the mention and the flattering remarks.

    susie.

Leave a Reply

