Skip to content

It’s all about conversations

March 26, 2008

Isn’t that the truth?  That’s what we always talk about in the social media space.  But what about face to face meetings?  In our new Web 2.0, should we ever need to leave our physical comfort zones. 

I have to say YES.  If anything, seeing people meet face to face at SXSW earlier in the month told me that there will never be any substitute for real human contact.  Greeting @newmediajim outside of the Starbucks in Austin was more exciting than reading about his adventures filming POTUS (and believe me, those are interesting).  Meeting @Pistachio and having her give me a big hug DIDN’T freak me out – instead I found it warm and caring, just like she presents herself online. 

So what did I do when I was trying to arrange a meeting between 3 locations and couldn’t get a video room for my locale?  I hopped on a plane and moved to the location with the most people to work the meeting live.  Despite writing this email from the departure gate of a delayed plane, it was one of the best decisions I could have made.  Yes, you can function on meetings over audio and video connections.  Sometimes though you just have to be there.  We spent 2 productive hours forming a plan for increasing sales through one of our key accounts.  We made connections, laid out plans to be followed through on, and generally got inspired.  Would that meeting have gone that way if I stayed at home and sat on the phone?  Not saying that, but I was more involved and attached to the project, and in the long run, that’s what matters. 

Here’s to remembering that there is no substitute for old school human interaction.  And to my flight taking off sometime tonight. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 5:48 am

    nothing like putting the face with it.
    safe and smooth travels.
    nice hotel?

Leave a Reply

