Skip to content

IT Girl Goes to the Gala

March 19, 2008

Wanted to follow up with the details of the Poets & Writers “In Celebration of Writers” gala that I attended last night.  Because it’s not every day we attend a “gala”, now is it?

 Here’s what transpired, in a nutshell:

  • Before Eileen asks, I wore a new black jacket with black pants and a tank top.  Kitt, who is my at work fashion consultant, approved of the outfit and I had to concur.  I felt very comfortable in it.  She came in a gorgeous purple velvet pantsuit.  Only Kitt can rock a purple velvet pantsuit.  Kitt is an IT Girl in my book any day.   
  • As predicted, the Wiley folks did tend to congregate in a corner of the room.  Why?  Because this is POETS and WRITERS, a celebration, for the most part of fiction.  And Wiley doesn’t publish any fiction.  But we support P&W, so we were there giving out big Haiku Hi-fives. 
  • That’s not to say that I didn’t recognize anyone.  On the elevator up to the ballroom, a woman with a baby got on, followed by a man.  I looked at her and said to myself, that’s Lili Taylor, I had no idea she was even pregnant much less a mom.  Other Wiley folks (hello Morgan!) doubted me, but thanks to Twitter, @treepusher was able to let me know that according to wikipedia, she was due to give birth to a baby girl in January of this year.  When I asked how old the girl was, she said she was 7 weeks, and couldn’t wait to make her debut at the dinner.  I congratulated them, and later saw her nursing her in the middle of the ballroom.  Way to go, sister.  Power to the leche people. 
  • I also recognized Mary Higgens Clark and her daughter Carol at the cocktail hour.  The same cocktail hour where I ate my weight in little Reuben sandwiches.  Yum!
  • Poets!  We had perhaps the coolest poet in the history of poets at our table.  Cornelius Eady – check out the hotlink, his hair is longer and even cooler now.   Let’s just say that if Sally Ride made physics cool for me, this guy could make poetry cool for anyone.  I ended up ordering one of his anthologies off Amazon because I thought he would be a good read for me and Little IT.  His wife was way cool too – she’s a SF/fantasy geek.  I felt so at home with her.
  • Walking into the main room, I saw a guy who looked so familiar.  Morgan said, “That’s Imapeecee.”  After I made her repeat that 3 times, I realized it was the guy from the “I’m a Mac, I’m a PC commercials.”  Did you know PC is an author?  Who knew that?
  • Other authors that had me in fangirl mode were Erica Jong (I was in the ladies room with her – my mom would have fainted); Michael Cunningham (I mouthed I LOVE YOU as I walked by, but he probably 1. didn’t see it, and 2. doesn’t care about the love of a Hetero woman); Susan Isaacs (I used to read her when I first started working and someone left one of her books on the train); Andy Borowitz (he’s very funny) and some others I cannot remember.  But trust me, I was impressed. 
  • Peter Straub, one of the nights honorees, is someone I have read previously.  OK, so I read him because he wrote with Stephen King, but still, give me that, will you?
  • The food was a bit lame, but dessert was served in the hallway – o strange chocolate things coated in gold, we had a special night, didn’t we?

 All in all, it was fun.  And since the grown ups will probably end up going next year, I can say that my one visit to Poets & Writers was pretty cool.  I felt like a geeky little Cinderella at the ball.  What more could an IT Girl want?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Emilie permalink
    March 19, 2008 8:36 pm

    You met John Hodgman AND Corey Flood? So jealous. Joe lies when he cries…

  2. March 19, 2008 10:48 pm

    Sounds lovely! 🙂 I’m not much into fiction, but reading this makes me think of when we were at SXSWi and I was swooning over mom blog queen Dooce. Glad you had a blast!

  3. March 20, 2008 7:47 am

    MET would be too strong a word, Em. I was merely an observer. In fact, I talked to almost no one outside of our table, except for the woman who said the immortal line:

    “I wrote sixty-three songs this year. They’re all about Joe. And I’m going to sing each and every one of them tonight.”

  4. Diane McNulty permalink
    March 26, 2008 3:59 pm

    OMG you met–or saw–John Hodgman? you know, “Iampeecee” guy? I love Hodgman! He is often very funny as the resident expert on “The Daily Show” and he wrote “Areas of my Expertise” in which contains my all time favorite list of hobo names. There are also some very amusing hobo-related signs.

    Sounds like a fun night and who knew Lili Taylor was now a mama? She used to live down the block from me back in the day.

  5. Diane McNulty permalink
    March 26, 2008 4:02 pm

    Gee, nice typo! “In which contains my favorite list” ?? Sheesh.
    I cringe a bit. I blame it all on Hodgman and his clever hobo names.

  6. March 26, 2008 5:04 pm

    That typo was brought to you by the manager of our copywriting team. Just thought you wanted to know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

