Skip to content

Oscillate Wildly*

February 29, 2008

I’ve got that dizzy feeling these days, and it’s not a good thing.  I think it’s something called benign postional vertigo.  I had it after Little IT was born, and two weeks ago on a business trip in Indy it came back.  Big time.  I was getting out of bed in the am, and the room would not stop spinning.  It got worse over the next couple of days, which I found out was due to taking Claritin-D, aka the drug that made me fuzzy and spinning.  Those are some serious meds.  I stopped taking them and the fuzziness went away.  The spinning is a little better now, affecting me only in the morning, but boy is it a head trip. Pun implied and intended.   It’s instant when I am lying down on my left side, less so on the right.  I got an ear dr. appt for the Friday before St. Patricks Day, so I think I’m taking this down to Austin with me for SXSW. 

*any excuse to expertly reference a Smiths song.  One of my favorites too because it’s Morrissey-free. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2008 5:12 pm

    There’s a great exercise that you can do to reset your balance. Be sure to ask for it. BPV sucks, but the exercise works immediately.

  2. 40for40 permalink
    March 3, 2008 7:09 pm

    Hey, my partner had exactly the same thing a couple of years ago – caused by being in planes. (Very unfortunate first episode resulting in being helped off lane and phuking all-over friends apartment). It sucks. Cure is to do weird exercises involving throwing yourself backwards!…and waiting for it to pass. Hope you’re feeling better. LouiseB

Leave a Reply

