Skip to content

An ode to Super Fans

February 4, 2008

I could use this moment to be gleeful about the Giants victory – and boy was I gleeful last night.  But instead I’d like to offer a tribute to the Boston sports fan.  And not just because I am married to one.

You see, you can say what you want about the Boston sports fan, and boy do we in NY, but the one thing you have to admit is that they are loyal to their teams.  Maybe it’s because they have one baseball team and one football team, not to mention one hockey and basketball team.  Unlike NY where we have 2, 2, 3 and 2, respectively.  And that’s not counting the Buffalo Bills, who are technically the only team that actually plays in NY, but let’s not get into that right now.)  Boston fans don’t have to split their loyalties, and it’s hard to find someone from the area who doesn’t support those teams.  I know of NYers who have moved to Boston and converted their loyalties as soon as they’ve changed their drivers licenses.  It’s hard not to fall into step. 

Boston fans are faithful to a fault.  They’ve been through enough losing years to appreciate victory.  You can say they’ve gotten to expect it over the years, first with the Celtics run, to the Patriots 3 championships, and then those dreaded Red Sox.  You have to respect that.  As a NY sports fan (except for the Celtics, who I’ve been a fan of since High School) I respect those fans more than most.  They’d never face a situation like in Seattle where games weren’t televised because they couldn’t sell out the puny Huskie Stadium, only to be in the Super Bowl a few years later and have all those Johnny-come-latelies jump on the Seahawk’s bandwagon.  No, NY and Boston fans don’t understand league television rules that prevent games from being televised if games are X% sold out.  Because our fans are true.  I don’t mind when a Boston fan like my brother-in-law razzes me because I know he’s been through the lean years.  My sister-in-law on the other hand, has never been there and barely understands sport, so that doesn’t count. 

So, to the Patriots fans who are slumping their way into Dunkin’ Donuts for your coffee this morning, I salute you.  I am thankful that our teams have these rivalries, because we’ve had some great runs over my lifetime.  I look forward to many more in the future.  Some we’ll win, some you’ll win, but I guarantee they won’t be boring. 

Oh, and one more thing…pitchers and catchers report in 10 days. GAME ON!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

