Skip to content

Can somebody just settle this damn writers strike, already?

February 1, 2008

Last night, something that’s become exceedingly rare occurred.  We, the viewing public, were treated to a fresh episode of a television show.  The show in question, Lost, didn’t have it’s best episode but it did make me think that this strike shortened season (8 episodes instead of 16) wouldn’t suck.  It answered a few questions, and left me wanting more.  Everything a good scripted show should.  It told a story.

Of course, at this point, the bar is set pretty low.  Any scripted series, drama or comedy, will get my attention more than the reality crap that’s starting to fill our airwaves.  I freely admit I watch television.  I’m not one of those “I don’t have a television and I only listen to NPR” smarties.  Nor am I a reality snob – I love “The Amazing Race”, the family never misses “American Idol”,  and in this time of strike have developed a sick fascination with “Wife Swap.”  But enough with “Moment of Truth” and “Dance War” already.  “Lost” being back made everything all right with the world again.  At least until we get a new season of “Gossip Girl”. 

I’m not saying the writers should cave.  Far from it.  Part of my job is to work with authors, and I understand the art and craft of writing, and don’t feel it’s something that should be taken for granted.   Writing is an art, a skill, and one that should be respected.  And respect it I do, especially when faced with yet another “American Gladiators” on a cold winters night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2008 3:23 pm

    Amen!!

    I miss my shows…

  2. February 3, 2008 8:53 pm

    My DVR is getting bored. Good thing that maternity leave will be over in two weeks!

Leave a Reply

