Skip to content

Ode (Om?) to Yoga

January 25, 2008

It’s morning now, and I’m basking in the afterglow of last night’s Moon*Flow*Glow experience.  In retrospect, it was an evening that was so out of my realm of my quotidian existence as to be memorable by name alone.  The joy began when we entered a studio space smelling of incense, strewn with rose petals.  The space was not large, so we crowded in, mat next to mat, to begin the practice.  We started by dedicating our practice to someone in our lives who needed our love and support.  We thought of qualities in ourselves that we wanted to cultivate, and lit candles to accomplish that, while thrusting symbolic sesame seeds into the fire to represent that in ourselves which we wished to let go of.

Or something like that.  I had to ask K., my office mate, several times what I was casting out, and what I was casting in, and I’m not sure I got it right.  And the piece of paper I was supposed to bring, with what I wanted to cast out written on it?  I lost it somewhere between the office and the car.  Whatever, dude.  See, that’s the thing about yoga that works for me.  There is a very crunchy nature to yoga, something that would seemingly be in opposition to the snarky New Yorker that is my personal branding.  Chanting “Om”, ceremonial sesame seeds, and reflecting in the glow of the moon are not what you expect from someone who comes up with new curse words every day on the West Side traffic jamHighway.  But that’s the point.  Stepping out of your comfort zone, trying something new, and putting the time into trying to heal the mind and body are working for my psyche.  S., who works on our art dept put it best.  She was comparing yoga to spinning and said (I’m paraphrasing here), “Yoga is soothing and comforting.  In spinning, they yell things at you.  I get yelled at during the day, I don’t need that at the gym.”  And she has a point.  Plus, the whole point of yoga practice is you do what works for you, and you don’t worry about anyone but you.  No looking at the chick on the mat next to you trying to figure out if your butt is bigger than hers.  No bemoaning that you can’t do as deep a backbend as the guy in the corner can.  Trendy clothes?  Not necessary.  It’s about what you can do, no competition with anyone else.  That’s why yoga has been such a blessing in my life.  Keeps me fit and sane. 

Anyhow, back to the FloGlo.  After all the opening ceremonies, we entered into a cramped but substantial practice for over an hour and a half.  I was a bit sweaty by the time the two massage therapists came by for some “rubbing loving” which served to be the icing on the proverbial cake.  I left feeling relaxed – not energized, but not depleted either.  It was as if my balance had been restored.  It was a beautiful sensation and certainly what Laurie, our yogini, intended.   I was able to be in the moment and not worry about anything else.  Now, it’s back to the mundane, but for one night, I was baying at the moon and loving it. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2008 11:25 am

    I have also recently began practicing and it has helped me quite a bit in terms of relieving stress and finding time that’s soley mine. Thanks for the helpful post. Where is this studio that you went to?

  2. January 25, 2008 6:22 pm

    Oh this sounds so lovely. I think I could use a good howl myself.

  3. January 26, 2008 10:29 am

    The studio I go to is a gym in Hoboken. I have a link to my yogini’s web site on the left. It’s litwithin.com.

    Susan, the howling joy lasted well into the next day. Of course, everyone has a cold today, so we’re over the glow, but a 24 glow can’t be beat!

  4. January 28, 2008 1:14 am

    your post makes me want to get back to yoga.
    it adds a great focus with calm to carry on.
    om.

Leave a Reply

