Skip to content

Continuing my conversion to “haus-frau”

January 22, 2008

Because my scrapbooking addition will be taking up more of my time, how will I be able to cook dinner for my hungry family?  Never fear, Let’s Dish  is here.  It’s a fun concept – grab a couple of friends, or head in yourself, and put together a bunch of meals to take home, freeze and cook later.  You come into the place, don protective gear (see below) and pick which meals you want to make.  At each station, you assemble the ingredients for a meal and place them into ziploc bags to be frozen and cooked later.  In just over an hour, I had the makings of 4 meals (you could also do 8 or 12, I started small).  The benefits?  You don’t have to chop anything, or clean up for that matter.  It’s more expensive than making it yourself, but it’s cheaper than take-out.  You make it yourself, fresh, and you can also control the ingredients that go into it. 

I thoroughly enjoyed myself, not just because of the food, but the company.  I went with Kris, who works with me, and she brought a friend from another publishing house not to be named.  🙂  As you can see, a great time was had by all. 

 tres-amigos-a-la-kitchen.jpg

I’ve cooked two of the meals already, and they fed 4 people heartily.  The French Farmhouse chicken was delicious.  The Portabella Beef Stew was good, but the reviews in the house placed it at less yummy than the stew I make myself.  Let’s Dish claims that each of the dishes feeds 6, but those 6 people must be very small and not so hungry.  I know portion size is an issue in my world, but 6 people would starve if they had to share one Let’s Dish dish.  Since you see exactly what goes into each meal, I can say that they were pretty healthy, especially when combined with a big yummy salad at mealtime.  Mr IT is struggling to get the concept (“You can’t just do this yourself at home?”) but I think it’s something I would be happy to try again. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2008 9:15 pm

    I love this idea but surely it’s only practical for weekends, and that is when one has the most time to cook in the first place. Plus doesn’t it depend on liking/sharing the other people’s food preferences? That is to say, please leave the mushrooms out of my stew…

  2. January 23, 2008 9:08 am

    Hello Constance. Most of the dishes, once pulled from the freezer and/or defrosted in the fridge, take 10-20 minutes to cook, so I can do it on weeknights when I have about 30 minutes to put dinner on the table. You can alter the ingredients to suit your family’s tastes, but if someone doesn’t like mushrooms, you may find yourself out of luck when it comes to my stew. 🙂

Leave a Reply

