Skip to content

Dear Cablevision,

January 20, 2008

You suck.

How in the world can you have an outage exactly one minute into the Pats-Chargers pre-game show, leaving Mr. IT a twitchy mess?  Sure, sure, things like that happen, but when he called, all sweaty and bothered, it really wasn’t wise of you to say, “These things happen” and “Be patient.”  Because a cable company shouldn’t suck so much that “Be patient” is the best that you can do.  I think you’ve come to grips with how much you suck and have determined that suckiness is par for your course.  The bar has been set…at sucky.

Because of his rashiness surrounding the signal outage, I had to make the trip myself to pick up the buffalo wings, accompanied by the two kids.  Yes, IT Boy looked adorable in his Bruschi jersey, but that’s not the point.  Additionally, the pot rack never got installed in the kitchen, because of the time spent checking sets and making calls.  So I still have the pots cluttering up the stove and the cabinet that really wasn’t designed for my pots.  I was so close to pot rackdom I could almost taste it. 

We’re seriously thinking about switching to Verizon for cable.  Sure, there are fewer HD channels and you have to pay extra for them, but you get BBC America, and I can think of few things better than that (Calling “Dr Who”!).  Except for being able to see the game on the big screen.  Mr. IT looks so sad and pathetic watching the game on the 20″ set in the playroom.  I hope you know how much you have ruined my Sunday. 

I hate you. 

Ellen

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    January 20, 2008 7:42 pm

    You need Satellite!

  2. January 20, 2008 8:51 pm

    Antenna backup for local HDs…

  3. Jay permalink
    January 22, 2008 12:40 pm

    I just saw this the other day on Seth Godin’s blog:

    “The Problem with Perfect” http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2008/01/the-problem-wit.html

    Perhaps the problem with Cablevision is that they’re perfect.

    …Or maybe not.

  4. January 22, 2008 3:06 pm

    Chris, we have antenna backup, that’s what got us in the playroom and me in the kitchen on the 15″ set.

    Jen, Mr IT is no fan of satellite, but thanks for the suggestion.

    Jay, SO NOT PERFECT! But thanks for sharing.

  5. February 3, 2008 5:48 pm

    I’ve just received my installation of symmetrical 20Mbit service from Verizon FiOS.

    Please see my blog for the install, the anticipation, speed tests, and other random stuff!
    The TV service is much more crisp, and quick. (Ever notice on Cablevision you have to sometimes wait for the next channel to load, when you’re channel surfing?) And… I’m not paying any extra for their HD channels.

    -Fragzem
    http://fragzem.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

