Skip to content

Some (IT) Girls Are Bigger Than Others

January 17, 2008

I’m currently trying to put together responses to two conference speaking requests that I’ve received.  Yes, I am insanely popular, but it still costs $6 to get across the bridge on the way home, so I don’t feel all that special. 

Anyhow, I’m trying to put together a brief synopsis of what I have to offer to conference attendees who might choose to listen to me, and I’m in need of a bit of feedback from the masses out there. 

What I do – I’m a marketing director at a publishing house that has put out quite a number of technology and business books, including many on social media.  Plus, I can mix a mean pitcher of Sangria. 

What I can talk about based on that experience – should you consider writing a book, how you work on getting published, do you need an agent or not, and how can you best work with your publisher (or on your own if you chose to self-publish) to insure that your book gets the maximum visibly in the channel.  I’m also prepared to dash your dreams about how your book will make millions, you’ll get on Oprah, and get to quit your day job as you buy that dream house in Malibu.  Also, I’m not afraid to tell you never use cheap wine in Sangria, because that’s just bad advice that will hurt you in the end.

For those who have attended meetups and conferences like PodCamp, BlogHer and the like, if you had the opportunity to talk with someone in the publishing field, what questions would you want answered?  

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2008 7:21 pm

    How about how we aspiring authors can help YOU marketing professionals sell us better? 🙂 I’m all ears!

  2. January 18, 2008 7:17 am

    ok, you asked for it. contact my bff – blogger, yet to be published, has agent, is working towards getting published, and we both say – “all roads lead to Oprah” and the money she makes we have virtually spent all of it.
    she lives right here in mayberry rfd too-
    another it girl in my book.
    check her out-
    “kwanawrites”-
    none other than pve design did her “masthead”

  3. January 18, 2008 10:09 am

    P – I think I met Kwana – tall, goregous, and setting the bar way too high for the rest of us slacker moms, right? 🙂 She’s been kind enough to post on my blog too and I’ve been reading hers. She’s got a good blog there!

    MJ – that’s certainly something I can talk about!

  4. January 18, 2008 9:30 pm

    Ellen, Yes, I’ve got a blog, (thanks for the kind words) but the super mom, goregous part doesn’t match up! Tall, yes. I’ll agree with that one.

    Have we met? We probaly have. Let’s try and get together again. I’ve been to plenty of fiction writers conferences. I don’t know if I can help but would love to try.
    PVE can give you my number. Call anytime.

Leave a Reply

