Skip to content

In praise of “Juno”

January 10, 2008
tags:

As I have mentioned, I don’t get out much.  The last adult movie I saw was “Love in the Time of Cholera”, which made me want to reread the book to remember why I liked that story it in the first place.  Last week, however, I was treated to a night out with two good friends.  We went for Indian food (yum) and a movie.  None of the trio had seen that much outside of “Enchanted” and “Alvin and the Chipmunks”, so it wasn’t hard to find a movie we all really wanted to see.  We ended up seeing Juno, and were so glad we did.  What starts out as a really sharp, wise-cracking comedy becomes richer and more vibrant as the story unfolds.  I won’t give away much here, except to say it’s the story of a 16 year old who gets pregnant unexpectedly, and decides to give birth to the baby and give it up to adoptive parents.  There are a few twists and turns in that plan, but it turns out wonderfully. 

I’m not really one to do movie reviews on my blog, but this was the kind of movie that made you want to shout from the rooftops how good it is.  It made me appreciate the art of good writing, and in this time of the WGA strike, that’s an even more important thing.  Diablo Cody wrote the screenplay, and it’s unique, inventive, warm and downright hysterical at times.  According to IMDB.com, she’s writing a series for Showtime, but with the strike not showing any signs of ending soon, who knows what’s really happening.  So go see “Juno” now, and give thanks for writers!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 11, 2008 11:22 am

    I saw this movie a couple of weeks ago. I too loved it! I went out by myself for a much-needed Mommy-break and Juno was the perfect choice for just such an outing. The acting and the writing was all superb.

Leave a Reply

