Skip to content

Why I just cannot support Hillary

January 9, 2008

Here’s an email my dad sent to a bunch of friends and family the other day:

In a news conference Deanna Favre announced she will be the starting QB for the Packers this coming Sunday. Deanna asserts that she is qualified to be starting QB because she has spent the past 16 years married to Brett while he played QB for the Packers. During this period of time she became familiar with the definition of a corner blitz, and is now completely comfortable with other terminology of the Packers offense. A survey of Packers fans shows that 50% of those polled supported the move.

Does this sounds idiotic and unbelievable to you? Well, Hillary Clinton makes the same claims as to why she is qualified to be President and 50% of democrats polled agreed. She has never run a City, County, or State. When told Hillary Clinton has experience because she has 8 years in the white house, Dick Morris stated “so has the pastry chef”.

Yes, this is a viral email, but I checked an Morris did actually make the pastry chef comment.  You might find some of this misogynistic, but there’s a key point in the humor of this.  Hillary’s running on a record that isn’t hers.  Just because her husband had some achievements as our president doesn’t meant that they automatically become her by osmosis.  So, what has she done as NY’s junior Senator.  Good question.  I have to think long and hard to find some benefit her being senator has produced for my state.  To date, nothing has come to mind.  She’s been a carpetbagger, using our state as a stepping stone to get to the White House.  I didn’t elect her for senator, and hopefully won’t have to find her name on a ballet anytime soon. 

When I think about Guiliani, I can point to so many changes that he made to the city.  He had a really impact on NY, promising change and delivering it.  And I’m talking about anything to do with 9/11.  I’m talking about economic recovery, reductions in crime, and revitalizing major sections of the city. 

Granted, a mayor can do more than a senator, but she’s had little to no impact on our state.  I resent her candidacy as much as I resent women insisting on supporting her simply because she is a woman.  I can make up my own mind, thank you, and don’t have to take Y chromosome or lack thereof into consideration.  And whether I find myself in November voting for a Democrat or Republican is still up in the air.  But it’s going to be a decision based on the merits of the candidate, not his or her spouse. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    January 9, 2008 10:41 am

    I do wish you wouldn’t use your blog as a platform for political views. I know I can always remove you from my reader (and will if this becomes a political blog), but generally I enjoy your posts, which are generally neutral.

  2. January 9, 2008 11:19 am

    Hi John, I’m sorry you were not a fan of the most recent post. As I have said before, I don’t intend for this to be a political blog. There are a lot of people out there who have strictly political blogs, and depending on your point of view do it better than I ever could. I tend to be very private about my policial views, perhaps being the product of a liberal mom and conservative dad has made me that way. If Hillary does end up being the democratic nominee, I can’t see wasting my bandwith ranting about her. Likewise, if Obama, Edwards, or someone else emerges, unless they do something that really impacts me (funding for schools, the war, etc) I might put in a mention about it. But no, “Confessions” will never be a “policial blog” in the way others define it.

    My goal has been to post on a variety of subjects and see what the feedback is. I didn’t want to do a strictly publishing blog, because my personality is more than just what my job is. I post on work stuff, parenting stuff, everything that involved me. I do take traffic rankings into effect, and certainly place a lot of importance of what people are commenting on, both on the blog and in private emails to me. What people like, I will write more on if it suits me. Vice versa too. I like the idea of having conversations with people. So thank you for taking the time to make your comment.

  3. jwikert permalink
    January 9, 2008 12:56 pm

    Hi Ellen. I, for one (and maybe the *only* one, if John is any indication!) actually like it when my favorite bloggers stray off-topic and show some personality. I’d be bummed if this blog turned into nothing more than a political soapbox for you, but I seriously doubt you’ll head in that direction!

    At any rate, my opinion is “Hillary, no…Bloomberg, yes!” I’m secretly sitting on the sidelines just waiting for Mr. Bloomberg to jump into the fray!

  4. Jenny permalink
    January 9, 2008 2:06 pm

    I tend to think that your post is mostly about being a woman – even though it borders on the political side, I find it confronting an issue that many women face. Is Hilliary’s crying over losing in Iowa really supposed to bring out my “female emotional side?” I know that she claims that her emotions got the better of her because she “cares so much about our country.” However, do I really want my country leader crying at a table when Iran will not give up their nuclear weapons????

  5. January 9, 2008 2:12 pm

    Hi Joe, Jen – thanks for joining the conversation.

    Like I said, there’s no risk of this being a political blog. I don’t like conflict all that much. But as you point out Jen, there is something about Hillary that speaks to all women, positively or negatively. Sometimes you can’t help but talk about her.

  6. January 14, 2008 3:19 am

    freedom of speech is one of our rights – speak and speak your piece or is it peace… pastries, politics, pontificate!

Leave a Reply

