Skip to content

What’s in the bag is not the point

January 2, 2008

Much to the chagrin of Mr. IT, I am a pack rat when it comes to shopping bags.  I’m a sucker for a well made bag that I can drag around till it literally falls apart, hopefully not on the subway or in my driveway.  Last week I was in the city following around European tourists taking advantage of the exchange rate.  It wasn’t what was inside their Armani and Calvin Klein bags that I was lusting for, it was the shopping bags themselves.    I remember saying out loud that the Jimmy Choo shopping bag was a “really really nice” looking bag, not even giving a thought to the shoes inside of it.

This article in the NY Times shows me I’m not the only one following this trend.  Of course, I have Lord and Taylor bags stocked away in my closet that date back ten years.  I have bags that are so good I refuse to use them.  They might get dirty, you know.   If you’re at my house and ask me for a bag to carry some things home in, I will demure, run upstairs and pull out my stash.  I will then proceed to evaluate your request, and you, to see if you are “bag worthy”.  You may end up with an American Girl bag if I really like you (plus we have a lot of those, enough to spare), or a Stew Leonard’s plastic bag if your request seems a bit too greedy.  The Coach shopping bags probably won’t ever make it into your grubby little hands, nor will the Saks or Bendels ones.    And don’t think of asking for the 2002 Olympic commemorative bag that I got at Roots in Toronto.  That one ain’t never leaving the house. 

Thanks to Julie for sharing the article with me!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. MR. IT permalink
    January 2, 2008 12:35 pm

    although I swore not to comment on this blog after the Duke game… I find it necessary to ask the question, where in the house are all these bags and maybe we can unload some on ebay!

  2. Vicki H permalink
    January 2, 2008 1:26 pm

    I SOOOOO get this! I have a Coach shopping bag that I use only for dumping the recyclable paper into when I open the mail, then take the bag out to the recycling box in the garage. No other bag will do.

  3. January 2, 2008 1:44 pm

    Dear Mr. IT, the bags are safe in a secure location. No more need be said.

    Vicki – I hope your recycling runs don’t dirty your Coach bag. I worry for its safety.

  4. Julie permalink
    January 2, 2008 8:50 pm

    Hey, next time I will keep my blog topics to myself. I didn’t want to be Scooped again although I have at least 10 of their shopping bags. wink…

  5. Suzy permalink
    January 3, 2008 1:36 pm

    Totally hear ya on this one. I’ve got them stashed too. L&T gives you really good ones. Sturdy and with real strings. Gotta love it.

  6. Vicki H permalink
    January 3, 2008 9:53 pm

    Thanks for the concern, Ellen. It is just paper recycling. From throwing out all of the junk mail we get here.

    On the other hand, if something should happen to the bag, what better excuse to go shopping in the Coach store again!

Trackbacks

  1. Shopping Bag
  2. Need it, want it, gotta have it « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com

Leave a Reply

