Skip to content

Kindle me

December 10, 2007

If you’re considering buying Amazon’s Kindle ebook reader, or just want to hear what people are saying about them, our publisher and blogger Joe Wikert has set up a special Kindleblog called Kindleville.  Be sure to check it out as it looks to be shaping up as a must-read.  I’m reading it because I want to see if noted cheapskate Wikert is shelling out the $400 to become an early adopter of this product.  The man who changes his own oil is not necessarily the target audience for Kindle but who knows?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2007 4:21 pm

    You’re brutal Ellen, just brutal! OK, yes, I’ve been known to change my own oil over the years but I promise you I haven’t done so since 2003 or earlier! Also, is there really a problem with being a do-it-yourself-er? I don’t see a conflict between being buying a Kindle and being a hands-on person when it comes to DIY tasks.

    OK, you’re really approaching this from a tightwad point of view, right? Guilty as charged! To be honest, I don’t plan to buy Kindle 1.0. I’m waiting till version 2.0 to see if the price and feature set both improve. I also don’t want to get caught in the middle of a debacle like Apple caused by dropping the iPhone price after only 60 days on the market!

    How can I create a blog about something I don’t own? I plan to tap into the knowledgebase of existing Kindle owners. This past weekend I exchanged email with a handful and expect to do several interviews with them on Kindleville. That, and I will do my best to keep up on news, other blogs, etc., and point out interesting tidbits, weigh in as a publisher, reader, etc. It’s been a blast so far and I’m amazed how many people have already found it. Of course, it didn’t hurt that Scoble linked to it earlier this morning! 😉

  2. December 10, 2007 4:31 pm

    Joe, I think having your site devoted to being a Kindle-clearninghouse, if you will, makes a lot of sense. There is a lot of chatter out there about it, and as people start to get their hands on them and apply them in real world settings, we’re going to learn a lot about e-book behavior. I also hope we can use your site to advocate features, benefits, and pricing schemes to Amazon directly, such as your book club model.

  3. December 10, 2007 7:09 pm

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

