Skip to content

Sorry this post was a little late…

December 8, 2007

Thursday night was not a fun time to be in the IT house.  On the way back from the market, Little IT mentioned that I needed to write a note for her to take to school tomorrow. 

“What kind of note?”

“A note that I couldn’t finish my skeleton for science project.”

“What science project??”

“The one that’s late.”

We went around that merry-go-round for a little while before figuring out this – two weeks ago, she was given an assignment.  For whatever reason, still unknown, she:

1. Didn’t tell us about it.

2. Didn’t make any effort to do it.

3. Lost the paper the assignment was on.

Now, if this had been the first time this happened, we would have dealt with it and moved it.  But it wasn’t.  More like the 5th time.  She’s been in the habit of doing piano homework right before the teacher arrives, which isn’t great, but she makes it work.  But now it’s spilling into school work.  First, she did her newspaper assignment the morning it was due.  Then, her math papers for 3 days were “lost”.  Now this. 

Perhaps the reason that both Mr. IT and I are concerned is that she seems to be becoming me.  I am the master procrasinator.  In school, I often did my homework in the girls bathroom in the minutes before class.  College time found me doing assignments in the lecture hall in the seconds before they had to be handed in.  Even now, I’ve been known to be writing my presentations on the dais moments before I’ve had to give them.  And for the most part I get away with it.  It’s life on the edge, as I see it.  Acceptable for me, but certainly a trait I would love to address at some point for improvement.  But for Little IT to be this way?  Horrors! 

She was with her sitter tonight and they finished the skeleton.  They used spaghetti and elbow macaroni, and it came out pretty great.  They also did the second project, nutrition label comparisons, for extra credit.  Good work.  Late, but really well done.

Me?  I’m working on the late thing.  I sent out our holiday cards three days after Thanksgiving.  Many friends remarked in a mixture of utter amazement and sheer horror that the IT Family card was the first one they received this season.  Every once in a while I have to pull something out of the hat. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2007 5:45 pm

    Oh my. I am impressed, and a little scared too 🙂

  2. January 5, 2012 3:35 am

    Ellen says: WE HAVE NO RIGHT TO IMPOSE THOSE PERCEPTIONS ON OTHERS. We have the right to practice our religious beliefs, NOT impose those beliefs on others, no matter how right we think we or those beliefs are.

  3. January 5, 2012 3:35 am

    Would you be focused on exchanging hyperlinks?

  4. January 5, 2012 3:35 am

    This is my 1st time i check out here. I observed numerous entertaining things with your weblog, specially its discussion. From your tons of feedback in your articles, I guess I am not the only one obtaining every one of the enjoyment here! Keep up the great perform.

  5. January 5, 2012 3:35 am

    No resentful tone here but I would say that the hostility towards this president and those who have differing views are beginning to resemble ramblings of the Third Reich. Were gonna put a stop to this whether it is at the ballot box or some other box, if you get my drift. Smack-down time is coming. The only way youll know what freedom is is when you are forced to be free. Moreover, why would the good voters of Massachusetts turn to the Republican Party that got us into the economic and foreign-policy disasters we find ourselves in today? You can drink the Kool-Aid from these fascist charlatans. What you stand for is the opposite of freedom and liberty but youre too much of a useful idiot to realize it. Get ready for lots of salt!

  6. January 5, 2012 3:35 am

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  7. January 5, 2012 3:35 am

    Those are some great photos, Aron! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

