Skip to content

The big birthday weekend looms

November 27, 2007
tags: ,

Yes, only two more days before I leave for the big Vegas blowout weekend.  And you’d be surprised what the main topic of debate is.  No, it’s not who will be lugging the big suitcase with them to the office (I’m certainly hoping that Mr. IT, who is taking a bus from the office to the airport will volunteer – I have to take many subways and luggage and NYC subways do not mix).

Rather, the big debate is what books I should bring.  I know right now you’re thinking a weekend in Vegas doesn’t exactly spell big literary extravaganza.  But hear me out.  I don’t have as much spare reading time as I used to when I took a train to work.  I drive, and that’s not really conducive to reading (don’t even try to tell me audio books count, because they don’t.  I’m a visual learner and those don’t work for me.)  

I’m going to have a 5 hour flight, plus airport waiting time, plus leisurely minutes while Mr. IT fetches breakfast for me every morning (if I’m dreaming, don’t wake me).  I’m thinking 3 books will be needed.  One, a fun read, maybe chick lit, maybe not.  Another, a more procedural mystery type of book.  The third, something in the sci-fi genre.  Just because.  I’ll probably get to books in the reverse order from what is listed, but that’s ok too.

Heard an ad for this book tonight (who says radio ads don’t work!).  I might check that out.  Or Steve Martin’s new memoir – love his writing and his story sounds interesting.

If anyone has other suggestions, don’t hesisate to let loose and “throw a book at me.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2007 9:57 am

    If you haven’t read it, pick up “Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom”. Great Sci-Fi read from Cory Doctorow. Tons of great concepts in there, with the added bonus of being perfect for us parents who have been to WDW, oh 10 or 20 times. Here’s what I wrote about it as I was reading it…http://hoffman.blogs.com/tales/2003/02/two_mini_book_r.html

    Enjoy your trip!

  2. November 28, 2007 6:19 pm

    Sounds like a great suggestion, and right up my alley. Thanks Steve!

Leave a Reply

