Skip to content

Thanksgiving Day menu

November 21, 2007

Starters:  cheese, crackers, olives, roasted red peppers, stuffed mushrooms (prepared, from Stew Leonards)

First course: Squash Soup

The main event: Molasses-brined turkey with gingersnap gravy– seriously delicious.  I made it several years ago and it was out of this world.  You may think the gravy sounds wacked, but it was 1. yummy and 2. easy, because you don’t have to create a roux.

Green bean casserole – right off the soup can label.  A Mr. Elle family tradition.

Cranberry sauce (my mommy makes it)

Creamed onions (mommy, again)

Carrots (1 small bag fresh baby carrots baked for 45 minutes with dill, a little butter, and chicken stock)

Spinach Gratin– never tried it but Claire says it’s good.  I’m all about using spinach as a delivery vehicle for the cream, butter and cheese, so this looks like it will work for me.

Some form of dressing aka stuffing.  It’s got to be my favorite side dish yet I am totally hopeless about making it.  I don’t know why this has become my white whale, but I was ready to do Stove Top this year to avoid the fate of Thanksgivings past.  Mr. Elle convinced me to take on a bag of Pepperidge Farm but “keep it simple.”  I’m sure you know a “stupid” was implied at the end of his statement. 

Dessert:  Sweet Potato Pie, Blueberry Pie, maybe the S&S Cheesecake my mom has in the freezer as well if I can convince her to give it up. 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 4:50 am

    Hi everyone, it is Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to doing something fun that will probably involve a moto trip and seeing something new in Des Plaines I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

