Skip to content

Back it up!

October 30, 2007

Unless you are IT Boy or Little IT, I am not your mother.  But I do have good advice every once in a while and I am not afraid to share it.  Don’t wear a denim jacket with jeans.  Carry that Epi-Pen. And back up that data.

You know you have to.  You may have grand plans to do it, but until you actually have to deal with the loss of 5 years of family photos, it doesn’t become a priority.

Here’s a good article from Newsweek.com on the subject.  35% of us cop to not backing up our data. I think that number is FAR lower than it is in actuality.

I have to admit, I’ve preached this for years.  Talked about books on backup, storage and recovery.  But it was only last month that I sprung for an external hard drive.  It wasn’t a Seagate, but it does the job quite nicely, thank you.  And I didn’t have to have a data disaster to implement it.  I’ve got photos that date back to 2000, plus tax info, and what fits on an 80 gig iPod. If I were to lose that, I’d be kicking myself from here to Best Buy. Thankfully, it did not come to that. I bought a WD external hard drive from Costco.com.They have their own software to facilitate backing up, but I found it didn’t do a great job with my videos in iTunes, so I did that manually. I turned it off, and disconnected it from the computer and my wall outlet. I feel like Linus – very secure with my blanket hard drive. The first backing up took almost half a day, but it ran uninterrupted. I cannot stress how easy it all was in the end.

I feel so proud that I am ahead of the curve on something. Setting the trends…heh!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2007 2:34 pm

    Good for you! I nearly lost everything once, and have been relentless in my backups since.

    The external HD is a great system to use. You might also want to check out an online backup service I use called Mozy (http://mozy.com) They will give you 2GB for free, or you can opt for unlimited space for less than $5 per month.

  2. October 31, 2007 2:40 pm

    As my British friends would say, belts and braces! Mozy sounds like a good idea.

  3. November 1, 2007 7:26 am

    My Palm sends me a message every month to back up my data, and I am pretty good about it. However, now that I have a digital camera, I have tons more to back up and it probably won’t fit on a flash drive any more. Speaking of which, what were the IT children for Halloween? My sister had a little girl last night so we now have a Halloween baby in the family. I told my sister she is now doomed to hosting Halloween parties for the next 17 years!

  4. November 1, 2007 10:10 am

    Halloween parties can be fun. My niece was born on October 15, and each birthday is a Halloween party. Less pressure on the “right” location, and the “right” games, since the costumes are so much a part of it.

    IT Boy was a bee – it was a game day decision between that and Jack Jack from The Incredibles, but it there was a chill in the air, so the bee won. Fitting, since I went to see Sting and the Police on Halloween night. Sting wore a black and yellow jester costume – maybe we can borrow that for a Dummies meeting?

    Little IT was……..Hannah Montana!

  5. Dad permalink
    November 1, 2007 12:00 pm

    Costco has the 160GB HD 4 less than $100. http://www.tgrmn.com/ has the best backup program that I could find as well. We use the Pro however the basic program is good.

Leave a Reply

