Skip to content

What I learned from Erin Manning

October 28, 2007

Erin Manning, who I mentioned in an earlier post referring to her new book Portrait and Candid Photography Photoworkshop, is my photography hero. No, seriously, I may be biased, but 5 minutes with her convinced me of several things…

1. My new digital camera (a Canon PowerShot A630) was not engaged in a conspiracy to make everyone look like they had orange skin. There’s such as thing as WHITE BALANCE, and these cameras can adjust the white balance for different lighting conditions.

2. It is possible to take pictures in low to no light and not make everyone look like Casper the Friendly Ghost.  Slow sync flash…who knew? It allows ambient light to come into your pictures. Without it, would I be rocking amazing pictures like these (taken at Legend Weekend at Philipsberg Manor in Sleepy Hollow, NY)?

l-1.jpg

I honestly have no idea why a pirate is included in Legend Weekend.  Ichabod Crane, the Headless Horseman, and a pirate guy.  Whatever.  He was cute and entertaining, and made for a spooky ghostly picture.

What about this one?

l-2.jpg

Now we’re rocking some historically correct action.  It was hard to take this shot, as the friggin horse kept bouncing all over the place.  He really didn’t understand the concept of “stand still, the tourists need to record you digitally.  Plus there wasn’t low light, there was NO light, so the flash could have overwhelmed.  Next time, I’d like to see more horse and less fence, but I’m a rookie, so be gentle with me.

This is my favorite….spooky and ghost like:

ghost-lady.jpg

I love that she looks so ghostly.  Really cool.  I was amazed by how great my ghost shots came out.  Casper who?

And all this from 5 minutes talkin’ digital with Erin.  Imagine how great my shots are going to be after I finish reading her book!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2007 1:10 am

    Hi Ellen,

    Wow! Great shots. You really took those slow synch tips (also known as night flash on some cameras) and ran with them. Nice job 🙂

    Erin

  2. Julie permalink
    October 31, 2007 8:26 pm

    Cool photo.

  3. Pat permalink
    November 1, 2007 8:30 am

    Ellen, I loved your photos! The jack-o-lanterns were stunning, and I also admired the composition in your shot of the fence–in fact, I liked all the photos you showed here. Thanks for the book recommendation, and I’ll visit your blog again.

  4. led-pink permalink
    April 3, 2009 4:01 am

    that’s great but i don’t belive in ghosts

Leave a Reply

