Skip to content

The *BIG* Birthday – Destination Revealed

October 25, 2007

Sometime ago I blogged about a certain numerically significant birthday that I am staring down, and my desire to have a weekend away to wallow/revel in it.  After surprisingly (for me) little thought, I suggested Vegas to Mr. IT and he bit.  So now we’re going.  It’s with only a teeny tiny little bit of regret that I say that.  I’m really thrilled that we’re getting away together for the first time since the kids came along.  He picked a great hotel, and we’re seeing a great show and planning for .  I tend to over-think things, so it’s good that we didn’t ponder too much and just went for it.  At the same time, there are places that I think would have been fun too.  Now that we have purchased our vacation package, here are the places that didn’t get thought of, but could make the grade again someday for a long weekend out of NYC:

1. Malahat, Vancouver Island BC – Years ago, between business trips in Seattle and Vancouver, I spend at weekend on Vancouver Island staying at the Aerie resort.  This was a place that I always thought Mr. IT and I would come back to, and we still might. It’s an incredibly beautiful and relaxing place. A little prohibitive now with the US-Canadian currency exchange rate (when I went it $1 US was $2 Canadian – now they’re close to parity). Also, early December is probably not the best time to be up there, but it’s still on the list. I stayed for 2 nights, at the cost of $100 US per night. I toured the lovely town of Victoria and went on a mushroom hunt with other resort guests, which culminated in a mushroom dinner (far more exciting in real life than it reads, I assure you).  Also, hello, the idea of going across the continent doesn’t exactly say “relaxing long weekend”.  I’ll have to keep it in mind for the family vacation I am thinking of to Seattle and points north.   

2. New Orleans – I’ve been here tons of times for business trips, but Mr. IT and I visited once, albeit on overlapping business trips. He was working for a cruise line that was refitting a ship here, so he spent a couple of weeks supervising the refit from a financial sense (be sure to ask him about that at our next get together – party on, finance boy!). I was coming into town for an IBM meeting at the end of his trip. My dad was there as well, visiting a friend who was turning a mansion on St. Charles Avenue into a B&B. It was a blast for all of us, but I still don’t think of the Big Easy as a vacation destination post-Katrina. Everything is as up and running as it probably ever will be, but it will take some time to change that perception with me.

3. Orlando – if Mr. IT is reading this, he’s bowled over with laughter at the idea of setting foot in one of his least favorite places. If IT Girl is reading this, the idea of having her mom and dad visit her personal Mecca without her is causing her blood pressure to hit the roof. ‘Nuff said.

4. Iceland – this was considered, but in the time we had to book something, I couldn’t do enough research to convince Mr. IT that Reykjavik was indeed party central.  I’m still going to work on that idea to have it ready to whip out at a moment’s notice, the NEXT time he suggests we get away for a long weekend.  Strangely, while I was considering traveling to, but not blogging about Iceland, I noticed on my blog stats that I was getting reader traffic from Reykjavik.  So it *must* be a cool place if people there were finding my blog without being drawn to it by tag words!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2007 6:37 am

    I can understand the feelings you expressed about New Orleans, especially considering the terribly slanted and down-right-wrong reporting about N.O. in the media. I’m sure you are not alone in the way you feel. However, the visitors I see every day are constantly telling me, “why didn’t I come back sooner?” New Orleans is fully operational, but needs more visitors to continue the recovery. People often ask how they can help. Well, the number one way the average citizen can help New Orleans recovery is to COME HERE, and have a great time! If that’s not too much to ask , I hope you will consider a New Orleans trip sooner rather than later.

  2. October 26, 2007 6:45 am

    Hi Innkeeper, thanks for visiting the site. It’s certainly not too much to ask and now that I think about it, I would consider a New Orleans trip for the full family. No, we won’t be on Bourbon Street till all hours (although I did certainly see some families on the street late at night – not an IT thing to do), but there is so much else that our IT family would love. The historic buildings, the aquarium, the food, and most importantly, the amazing hospitality of the locals. Yes, I will certainly put this on the family travel list, because it’s even better for 4 of us to come down than 2.

  3. Julie permalink
    October 26, 2007 6:40 pm

    HI:
    ICELAND?-I was thinking of a foam party for your Big Bday. Very Kendra. Maybe I should stick to your other blog. Stop laughing, I also like SNL.

Leave a Reply

