Skip to content

Advice from bloggers, for a blogger-to-be

October 14, 2007

A good friend of mine recently started a web site promoting her design services.  In case you check out her site, yes, these works of art are even more wonderful in person.  She’s a fellow soccer mom, which gives you the wrong impressions, because she shows up at the practices and games looking amazing, plus she’s super nice. Anyhow, she’s been blogged about, and has been convinced about the value of blogging, and now wants to start her own.  She’s going in the right direction, as she already has an idea of what she wants her blog mission to be:

“(I want it to) be a source of inspiration for other artists and designers.  I have several interviews already to do profiles on other artists and I also have some other design items to speak to, ie, my favorite pen…”

I need a favor from her, so I thought setting up her blog would be an excellent in-kind act. She wants to know how to blog, and I can show her that. Anyone who knows me knows that I have no sense of color or design, so her skills would be of immense benefit to me.  I have no problem with how to go about setting up a blog for her, but I’m not sure what the right platform is.  I’m a huge fan of WordPress, but I don’t know that it is that intuitive for the beginning user.  Blogger is supposed to be, and I already set up a friend on that site, but I don’t see it as very scalable -that is, it’s easy to get up and running on it, but once you want to do more advanced stuff, it’s not easy to figure out how to do it.  I tried starting a blog on TypePad, but I wasn’t that impressed. I also see that Joe Wikert has a tag on his blog labeled “TypePad sucks”, validating my initial impressions. Need I look any further than WordPress or Blogger? Are there other platforms I should consider?  Comment away, and defend your platform of choice. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2007 4:15 pm

    Ellen,

    I cast my vote for WordPress, but I suggest your own installation. WordPress.com is a nice hosted solution, but there is so much more you can do.

    There a lots of inexpensive hosting services out there, and setting up a wordpress install is not too tough. Id be happy to walk you through it 🙂

  2. October 15, 2007 4:53 pm

    Let me reinforce that vote against Typepad… I know some people are happy with it, but they’re apparently not noticing the sluggish performance, downtimes and other annoyances I run into on a regular basis. I would have been much happier going with Blogger and it wouldn’t have cost me a penny.

  3. October 15, 2007 4:54 pm

    Then again, I see my comment posted at 12:53PM is showing up as 4:53PM on your WordPress blog… Maybe Typepad isn’t the only one with warts!

  4. October 15, 2007 9:54 pm

    Joe, it might be a time zone thing. I think I’m set as residing in the middle of the Atlantic. I’d be glad to take the hit for that over WordPress!

  5. October 15, 2007 10:40 pm

    I have to be the Typepad fanboy here. Maybe because it’s my first and only platform, but I’ve found it really easy to use and they’ve made some good improvements lately.

    Yes, Joe is right that they’ve had their troubles with some downtime, but not more than any others that I’ve heard about and it’s never been enough that I would think about switching.

    Let us know when that “soccer mom” starts blogging. I’d be interested in seeing her viewpoints (by the way, she can paint a mean bathroom mural, too!).

  6. Kathryn Bourgoine permalink
    October 19, 2007 7:52 pm

    I use Blogger and like it a lot. We’re using it now for our product line’s blog, too. Easy to use and interfaces with Picasso, which is what I’ve been using for my photos. While I live with a geek, I have no geek tendancies so the easier, the better!

  7. October 30, 2007 6:55 pm

    Wow, to my surprise, I really never thought that you were really serious about actually helping me take the plunge in the to wide world of blogging! It is an addiction, as I love seeing the latest posts and what the latest inspiration — For now, the trend seems to be “original content” and that I can handle.
    From one soccer Mom to another, go for “glory” —
    I’m a quick learner, and I can’t wait to jump in!

Leave a Reply

