Skip to content

Is this a book for me?

October 11, 2007

big-business.jpg 

I’ll answer that question in a moment.  But first, can you really tell a book by its cover?  And should you?

My boss is the head of marketing for all of our division, so he gets a copy of EVERY book we publish.  His assistant sits outside of my office, so when he goes through books and discards them there to be sent back to the warehouse, I’m like a Jewish mother hitting the racks at Loehmann’s.  Everything is free game!  Books, books and more books!  Free!  I definitely take more than I should, but I look at it as a service to keep M.C. from having to send more books back to the warehouse.

 I had seen this book once or twice in passing, but ignored it, categorized in my mind as “boring business book” and “big snore” – aka not for me.  But when you read the title, shouldn’t I be the target audience?  Isn’t this the type of thing that I spend my days doing? 

I’m not saying every book targeted to a woman has to be pink for us to pick it up.  But after reading the description and taking a quick peek inside, I really think this could be a book I could benefit from.  The cover doesn’t speak to me, sure, but I think I’m going to be glad that this one did end up on my desk.  The author is funny in parts, gutsy in others.  I’m going to be reading it at the same time as I’m reading The IT Girl’s Guide to Blogging with Moxie, so it’s going to be quite a juxtapostion.  I’ll post book reports as I go!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathy permalink
    October 12, 2007 2:28 pm

    Hi Ellen,

    I definitely want to learn more about blogging. I’ll be interested to read your book report on The IT Girl’s Guide to Blogging with Moxie. Maybe you can pass the book along to me when you’re done!

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

