Skip to content

At last! IT Girls are here!!!

October 3, 2007

blogging-with-moxie-20.jpg
I have the joy and honor to say that I am holding in my hot little hands one of the first copies of “The IT Girl’s Guide to Blogging with Moxie.”

Let me give you a little background and explain why I am so excited.  About 2 years ago, our editorial teams gathered in Indianapolis for a 3 day meeting to talk about the industry and brainstorm new ideas.  One of the themes that came up repeatedly during this pow-wow was the lack of a truly female-focused series on technology.  Something that spoke to women, not down to them.  Books that made being a geek, well, chic. 

We left that meeting determined to define what made this customer, someone we affectionately dubbed an “IT Girl”.  It’s both a play on the concept of an “it girl”, someone new on the scene and making waves, and IT, for Information Technology (duh!).  While a typical “it girl” is a dime a dozen and lives for those 15 minutes of fame, our IT Girl was different.  IT Girls are intelligent, interested (and interesting), active, and educated.  They want to learn new skills or enhance existing ones, and are eager to use tech in their hectic and fast-paced lives, but want it on their own terms.

A working team of anywhere from 5-10 women and 1 man began meeting weekly to further refine the IT Girls concept.  We came up with profiles of who our customers would be.  Looking rarely further than the person in the next cubicle or the mom in line behind me at carpool, we talked about what the needs of these women were and how our series would work to empower them.  In the end, our concept was fleshed out and we were off to find authors to make these books a reality.

In the meantime, I left Wiley temporarily to create my little IT boy (aka my son).  When I returned, I was anxious to see where we were on the series concept.  In the time that I was gone, the team of aquisiton editors had rounded up some amazing authors to fulfill the dream as it were.  For our first book on blogging, I couldn’t imagine we could find anyone better than Joelle and Kathy to write this book.  Their fun and flirty style gives the perfect delivery to what in anyone else’s hands would be dry and technical information.  “Blogging with Moxie” is a fun, hip-how-to that I can’t wait to dig into.  In fact, in the next few days, I will be posting the top 5 things I learned from this book. 

There are so many people to thank for this, from editoral team members Katie Feltman, Katie Mohr, Melody Layne, Mary Bednarek and Willem Knibbe who worked tirelessly on coming up with the series concept.  Marketer Kelly Trent was a driving force from the beginning and led the team in my absense.  Andy Cummings, the publisher from the group that put out the blogging book is a true IT boy in my book.  There are so many others who I won’t name here, for fear of sounding like Julia Roberts at the Oscars, but trust me, I know who you are and I will never forget your support.   

“IT Girl’s Guide to Blogging with Moxie” is available in bookstores both physical and virtual.  Later this month, starting on about the 16th, it will be on promotion at Borders.  Just wanted to give them a little shout-out and thank them for their support.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2007 3:48 pm

    Thanks so much Ellen! We are so thrilled to be part of the IT Girls’ Guides and to have had a hand in making it come to life. I can’t wait to have a copy in my hands!

  2. October 3, 2007 4:21 pm

    Thanks, Ellen! We’re so excited to be part of this project. 🙂

  3. uncommonality permalink
    October 3, 2007 4:44 pm

    Watching this series unfold was inspiring. Congratulations to all!

  4. October 4, 2007 6:17 pm

    Just saw it, and it is GORGEOUS. I’m so proud to have been a part of it.

  5. Rob permalink
    October 12, 2007 8:21 pm

    Hey,

    Just wanted to let you know about this really chill new podcast that just launched the other day called Girls Gone Geek. It’s a bunch of girls talking about all thing tech and giving it a female spin. While I usually listen to things like diggnation and DL.TV and the late engadget, this show is a lot of fun too. It’s refreshing to get a female spin on technology.

    Check them out at: http://girlsgonegeek.tv/

    Let me know if you have any questions. We’d love to have you write about them.

    Rob

Leave a Reply

