Skip to content

Is it crap if it’s on your iPod?

September 21, 2007

I love free stuff.  Who doesn’t really?  Free is good.  Free can be crap, but it’s overshadowed by the fact that it’s free crap and free trumps crap, at least initially.  Which leads me to iTunes.  Every Tuesday, it’s new music day.  Which, as even my daughter knows, means that they put up a couple of “Singles of the week” to download for free.  I’ve found about 3 good bands in the 2-3 years that I’ve been downloading these songs, which is pretty bad odds overall, but repeat after me, it’s free stuff! 

This month, FOX is providing downloads of a bunch of their new season/series premieres, which is a great marketing idea, especially since NBC broke up their relationship with iTunesand it’s now for them to try and gain market share on the service.  I was able to download about 6 shows from FOX, and found a CBS premiere as well (“Big Bang Theory”). Is it going to devote me to these shows for life? Probably not. It will give me something new to watch on an upcoming business trip. Last season, this is how I discovered “Jericho”. At midseason when it was ready to come back after a lengthy hiatus, they posted a “Return to Jericho” summary show. I watched it, was all caught up with the show, and started watching it for real. Wish “Heroes” had done that, I might have picked up that show. “Lost” also did it, and if you watch that show, you know you can always use a summary. It’s a neat idea overall, and I’m surprised more networks aren’t taking advantage of this on iTunes, not just to check out new shows but to get used to downloading them (even for $$) on the site.

For those who don’t know where the free stuff is on iTunes, go to the bottom of the home page and look in the center for the “Free on iTunes” header. I’m amazed how many people have never seen that box. Free people! Free!  Get the to the free!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

