Skip to content

In da club

September 20, 2007

There’s this new trend that is disturbing me greatly.  Each time, it seems, that tickets for a concert I am interested in are getting ready to go on sale, there’s a “presale” for members of the artist’s faux fan club.  Most of these shows sell out so quickly that there isn’t a chance to get tickets unless you are in the club.  U2 started this a few years ago, and I got really burned because I was in the fan club only to get the tickets, but didn’t get them because the shows sold out so quickly.  The Police continued the trend, which worked better because you could buy the fan club membership at the time you purchased the tickets, meaning you would not be stuck with a club membership if you didn’t get seats.  I had to submit here, because those who know me know that there is no way I would have missed seeing the Police. 

 The latest artist to torture me in this regard?  Miley Cyrus.  If you’re asking who she is, you don’t have a 6-13 year old girl, or don’t watch much of the Disney Channel.  Miley’s Hannah Montana: Best of Both Worlds tour tickets are going in a presale to MileyWorld members 2 days before an actual onsale date.  The fan club is not hugely expensive ($29.99) and it does seem to offer other options to kids, including an online community (because with Webkinz, Club Penguin, and Barbie World, I really need another community like I need a hole in my head). Still, it bothers me that these add ons come on top of the so-called “convenience fees” charged by Ticketmaster. Why can’t they just right price these tickets to begin with and dispense with the gimicks.

On another note, if you are the parent of a tween girl, you may or may not be aware that the hottest selling Halloween costumes this year are:

Hannah Montana
High School Musical generic cheerleader
HSM Sharpay
HSM Gabriella

If your kinder is looking to be one of these, buy now. I had to go to 5 stores to find a Hannah last night. And another 2 to get the friggin’ wig that does not come with the costume. Whatever happened to the box costumes from my childhood, the ones with the plastic masks and capes? I loved those!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2007 6:56 pm

    argg, I wish you didn’t tell me about that Miley Cyrus tour… I need to be sure not to mention it to my Hannah Montana loving seven-year-old.

    She wants to be a vampiress for Halloween — but Costume Express is already out of the costume she wanted! It’s only September! Halloween is my kids’ favorite holiday, but it’s my least because of the costume scramble.

  2. September 21, 2007 3:15 pm

    I’m so glad my girls are too young for hanna montana. Saw it at our freinds house. I’m up to my ears in princess, I don’t need to add HM.

Leave a Reply

