Skip to content

The lion, the witch, the wardrobe and me

September 19, 2007

I promise this to be one of the last Disney trip posts…

One of my favorite childhood books is The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.  I must have read it ten times, following it with all the other “Chronicles” titles much like I did with the Oz series by L. Frank Baum.  I recall sitting by my closet door many a day waiting for the time when the passage way to Narnia would be opened.

Unfortunately, it never did, but I was able to experience something akin to that at the Disney MGM Studios. We went to that park on our last day of the trip. I call MGM a great 1/2 day park. There’s a lot there, but we’ve seen most of it already, and how can we go again and again to those shows and attractions without seeing something new? Looking at my map, I saw what looked like a new attraction – Journey Into Narnia: Creating The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. OK, worth a try. We walked over to the area where the sound-stages are, where they are transforming their old “Who Wants to be a Millionaire-Play It” game into “Toy Story Mania.” Tucked in the corner was a line for Narnia. You wait outside and then are ushered onto a sound-stage where you see the wardrobe door. Many on the line called it a closet, much to my chagrin. Anyhow, they give a little speech about the movie, and then you walk into Narnia! The snowy winterland, the trees, the lamp-post – even a live appearance by an actress portraying the White Witch. It was all there and you were surrounded by it!  They even turned it into a marketing opportunity (Disney?  Really?) by showing a preview from the upcoming “Prince Caspian” film.  After you left the snowy part, there were a few props and costumes, an afterthought for many, but something I poured over, despite the child in the baby carrier who had just awakened from his nap. It was short, granted, but truly magical, and something I dreamed about for so long had finally come true.  I videotaped the whole thing, and if I can figure how how to put it on youtube, I will, and link it here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

