Skip to content

Apple says “Thanks for your support!”

September 6, 2007

I have to admit it – I love my iPod.  I’ve tried other portable audio devices and nothing comes close.  At the same time, I’m not in the Cult of Apple.  No kool aid has been consumed, no blood oath taken.  Which is why I’m chuckling just a little bit thinking about all those “fans” who had to have the new iPhone first.  Just had to have it.  And now, 10 weeks later, the company is dropping the price by $100 and phasing out the higher end model. Way to thank your customer base for coming out to support your product launch!  I’d be feeling pretty goofy right now if I had bought an iPhone.  I swore I would wait at least until my cell phone contract went the way of all flesh, which is in about six months, so I’m not affected.  Even Fake Steve is admitting that this isn’t the nicest thing that could have happened to the customer. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2007 3:25 am

    on the flip-side, I’ve been debating between treo and blackberry and this news just swung me over to the iphone side…..
    -Dan

  2. September 6, 2007 11:39 am

    Dan, you’re the customer whose going to benefit. Until December when they lower the price again and add tint control. Maybe. It’s like the SJ SNL skit all over again.

  3. September 6, 2007 7:51 pm

    ’tis the perils of buying technology.

    This piece of technology is so advanced, it’s already obsolete. That’s how far ahead of the competition we are.

  4. September 6, 2007 8:24 pm

    Ah, Steve offers a refund:

    “Therefore, we have decided to offer every iPhone customer who purchased an iPhone from either Apple or AT&T, and who is not receiving a rebate or any other consideration, a $100 store credit towards the purchase of any product at an Apple Retail Store or the Apple Online Store.”

    http://www.apple.com/hotnews/openiphoneletter/

Leave a Reply

