Skip to content

It’s Blog Day – did I make it in under the wire???

September 1, 2007

All right, here it goes. My 5 blogs picked as ones I visit for pure entertainment value. Not to advance my career, just to put a smile on my face…

1. Six in the World – I’ve followed this family on their sabbatical-like journey ’round the world for some time now. They’re back, and things aren’t as entertaining as they were when they were on the road, but it’s still an excellent example of how to turn your life on it’s head, in a good way.

2. Busymom.net – a drama-free, squishy-free blog.  When I first saw the headline, I burst out laughing.  It’s now my mantra. 

3.X635 – I know I’m supposed to think globally, but by picking this blog, I am acting locally. A neat individual who I hope to be able to meet personally right about the time my infant son starts demanding a trip to the firehouse.

4. Paul Feiner– I’m going locally here again, and I pick this as an example of how NOT to run a blog. All pronouncements, allows anonymous commentators to run unchecked, and rarely answers direct questions. A one way monologue does not a blog make. The comments are hilarious, ranging from ones that I swear are written by the blogger himself, to ones that go on for several screens. It points to the total state of dysfunction that has engulfed my little town.

5. Staircase Wit– I used to work with CLM, and this is blog is the next best thing to running into her in the hallway.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2007 5:23 am

    Hey, thanks! As for “squishy free”, you obviously haven’t seen the state of my rear end, lately. i

  2. September 1, 2007 11:38 pm

    “Staircase Wit” is the clear winner here for me. I’ll be watching this one.
    –Mike

  3. September 2, 2007 1:09 pm

    I read your blog comments about my blog. I appreciate your thoughts. I recognize that there is alot of garbage on the blogs – insults, accusations, etc.. On the other hand –we’re getting lots of visitors. During the first year we will have about 100,000 hits.
    Many people have come up with great suggestions and have provided me with constructive comments about the town. I don’t take the slander/libel comments seriously. But..I do find many of the comments posted by readers to behelpful. I can anticipate what my critics will say before they actually speak at public meetings – and prepare. I know what the controversies will be before they hit the papers —which is very helpful.
    I also like the fact that so many people are participating in the blog. WHen I’m speaking to people around the town, I’m amazed at the readership. A boring blog that is censored would not generate the interest that this blog gets.

  4. September 3, 2007 10:58 pm

    Aren’t you nice! In a way, I guess blogging *is* like running into your friends in the hallway. I would say I am a blogger in search of a theme except that I like not having a theme. However, I suppose if I become a famous patent litigator I might change my mind… That happy time is still in the future.

Leave a Reply

