Skip to content

Getting older

August 6, 2007

I am WAY too old to be staying out late on school nights.  Last night, I went to see the Police at Giants Stadium in NJ, after seeing them last Tuesday night in Hartford.  Tuesday I got home after 1am.  Last night, close to midnight, thanks to the decision to park my car as close to the exit as possible, thereby avoiding my friend’s fate of having to wait in level 4 of the parking garage for 45 minutes while levels 1-3 emptied out.  I wouldn’t trade the two concert experiences for anything, but on a sleepy morning like today, you do get nostalgic for a night where you’re in bed by 9. 

I was 15 when I last saw them at Shea Stadium in Queens…I had the stamina then, boy!  I found my old ticket stub from that concert – I paid $30 for my seat, albeit not in the best section of the stadium, but heck, it was the Police!  And R.E.M.!  And Joan Jett, but I spent her set in on line for the bathroom, as I’m not really a fan. 

 Last night’s ticket was SUBSTANTIALLY more than $30.  I had a laugh when they performed “So Lonely” and sang the line “…take a seat they’re always free.”  Not so much, Sting!  How’s that retirement fund looking, Andy?  Despite my wallet being pinched, it was pretty cool to see my favorite band from high school still be able to rock out.  I was a little freaked out when I saw that Andy Summers is 64 this year, making him 3 years younger than my mom.  Same feeling as at the Stones concert, but not as bad. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

