Skip to content

Facebook vs. MySpace

August 2, 2007

As if I was even cool enough (enuf?) to be having this discussion.

Part of my job marketing technology books enables me having more than a passing knowledge of the latest and greatest in social networking sites.  So for the past few months, I’ve been playing around with Myspace.  It’s been good but certainly at times it’s been more of a chore than a joy.  Recently, I started poking around Facebook.  The headaches I was getting from flashing pop up ads, music blaring at me from profiles, and color combinations that should only be seen in Limited Too stores went away.  Facebook is clean and sleek.  It’s also a lot easier to do stuff.  I don’t find it slows down the way Myspace does at certain peak hours.  To top it all, the joys of being able to throw a sheep at someone top anything I’ve seen on Myspace.  And pirates!  I can be a pirate wench on Facebook.  None of that on MurdochSpace.  Myspace is more appropriate for corporate marketing, but many of my “friends” seem to be inactive on there, with more than a few setting up beachheads on Facebook.   Of course, when the “kids” find something new, they’ll probably head to off that (see Friendster, demise). 

 All in all, it seems I’ll be spending more time on Facebook.  Certainly wish I had something like it when I was in school. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2007 9:54 pm

    Well, you seem to be addressing the relative value of Myspace vs. Facebook whereas my question would be if the individual in question (you or anyone else) has a professionally related purpose in mind, isn’t blogging better than either? So maybe your theme should be how to achieve the dual purpose of fun via blogging and networking/promotion via blogging? Are they mutually exclusive? Does one run the risk of diluting the effectiveness of both by not focusing on a single objective? I am sure for some people what starts out as fun becomes a business-type vehicle, and it sounds like you heard lots of such stories at your conference last week. But it is an interesting question in itself, and you haven’t even addressed the other hot blog topic (not totally unrelated) which is the issue of book reviews/book coverage migrating from printed form to online. How do you as a publisher try to tap into that?

Trackbacks

  1. Social Networking a go-go « Confessions of an IT Girl

Leave a Reply

