Skip to content

Back from BlogHer07

July 31, 2007

Top ten good things about BlogHer:

1. Being at a conference where it was all about me.  Not to be only-child like, but I truly felt that there were sessions FOR ME.  Networking opportunities FOR ME.  I never felt left out in the cold.   

2.  Meeting the people behind the blogs I read religously.

3. Meeting new people and adding their blogs to my must read feed.

4. Learning new things, especially the tips and tricks I picked up at the Building Your Blog Audience session that Elise and Vanessa gave. 

5. Getting inspired by others, helping me make a plan for what I want my blog to be and what I want to do in my career. Seriously. I have a plan, now I just have to implement it and see it evolve.

6. Meeting some great Wiley authors, like Gina Trapani, Jan Kabili, Kathy Scoleri and Lisa Sabine-Wilson.

7. Meeting some great women who could be Wiley authors someday. 🙂

8. My Birds of a Feather group from Friday lunch – “Moms who curse and drink.” My people at last.

9. Having my 10 month old son with me at all the sessions. He was great, naping at all the right times and looking cute on command.

10. Hearing my colleage say that she was proud to work at Wiley, because we “got it” by being at BlogHer in force. As MasterCard always says, that one was priceless.

Top five not so good things about BlogHer (there really weren’t 10)…

1. The location – Navy Pier is a hike to get to from, well, Navy Pier. It’s a 10 minute walk from end to end, make that 15 minutes when it’s packed with tourists. That got old fast.

2. The beverages – consistently, the drinks left over would be pepsi and sierra mist. People, it’s BlogHER. We like water and diet soda. It’s going to go faster than the other stuff. Be prepared.

3. When BlogHer got squishy – squishy is not my thing. Give me the snarky bitches anyday. There’s no weeping at BlogHer.

4. Having both kids with me at Saturday’s sessions because DH was down with food poisoning.  They were beyond good, but it still made for some interesting compromises.  You remember that as a woman, you are an all powerful multitasker, but it does take it out of you in the end.

5. The flights to and from Chicago, which reminded me why I try not to fly during the summer, especially to the midwest. Hanging out at O’Hare for 4 hours to take a flight that lasts an hour and a half? Torture.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2007 3:27 pm

    I hear ya on squishy. No squishy.

  2. margie permalink
    July 31, 2007 4:13 pm

    there’s definately a book idea in moms who curse and drink. I see OPRAH!!!!!

  3. August 5, 2007 8:57 pm

    Ellen, it was super meeting you and sharing good wine and eats with you on Friday!

    I totally agree on the squishy thing — what was that about? Heh.

Leave a Reply

