Skip to content

Back to the Bunker

February 2, 2011

You’re probably sick of reading blogs where the blogger is griping about snow, ice and freezing temperatures.

Well, you’re not going to find me breaking that trend.

Today is the 6th snow day that my kids have had this school year.  It’s my second delayed opening from work.  We’ve already had two closures due to snow.  The kids’  brains are turning to mush.  I don’t think there has been one week since December without a day off or a delay. 

Heck, MY brain is turning to mush.  The other day, I took Boy to a playdate, and ended up at the wrong house.  It took me QUITE A WHILE to realize that and get off that doorstop to find the right house. 

It’s cold too, with or without precipitation.  Leaving the house at 5 or 6 in the morning to go to the gym is decidedly unpleasant. 

I’d love to get away to somewhere warm, but I can almost guarantee that I would be scheduled to leave on a day that’s scheduled for a blizzard or some equally tragic weather event.

Supposedly the groundhog didn’t see his shadow today.  HOW COULD HE WITH ALL THE SNOW, RAIN AND ICE FALLING FROM THE SKY?

My friend usually has a sign on her door that says I LOVE WINTER.  If she has it up the next time I visit (assuming I can even get to her house and remember where she lives) I may just pull it down, stop on it, and use it for kindling.  No offense meant. 

I always hate winter.  It’s the time of the year when it’s cold and dark, and without wearing one of those light things they used to on Northern Exposure, I find myself prone to depression.  With these storms, I feel like I am living in a bunker.  Dick Cheney, I know what you went through, my man!  I just need to go out, without worrying about snow canyons and whether I can even get out of my ice slicked driveway in the first place. 

BUT…no matter how bad it is here, at least I am safe in my home.  I am struck by the fact that a good friend took a vacation to her husband’s homeland and now cannot get back home, at least for a while.  She’s been on Facebook a little, when the Internet and cell phones allowed.  Here’s her latest dispatch:

Cairo is chaos. So far, Alexandria protests are calm, but who knows how long that will last. Things change by the minute these days. Staying hopeful. Still feel safe–it’s the protesters I worry about. Can you imagine not being able to protest against your own government? So sad.

And this, from earlier:

Other than feeling cut off from friends and family in U.S., we are fine. Every experience we’ve had has made me love the Egyptians even more. So very proud of them for what they’ve done.

Makes you thankful for everything we have in this great country, snow, ice and all.  Godspeed home, my friends.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

