Skip to content

IT Boy’s “First” Haircut

July 20, 2009

Boy is actually a veteran of 4 haircuts at this writing, but the last one went so well, I’m turning back the clock and calling it his first.

I’m the mom.  I can do that.  If I want to pretend that this was his first haircut experience, which is supposed to be perfect in memory, I can do that.

The first three were at my hair salon, 2 with Girl’s stylist and one with another stylist who is not very good.  Girl’s stylist rocks, and gave him 2 really good haircuts.  Of course, those cuts came while he was thrashing and freaking out.  Not fun.

Since we were approaching the point where everyone would tell me I have a cute little girl, I decided to start thinking about his next first haircut.  I polled everyone I know who knows kids with sensory issues (or those who have kids who are  just plain BOYS), and in the end decided to go to SnipIts, which opened a store recently in Scarsdale.

We went around 11am on a Saturday.  Since it was a summer weekend day, there was no wait.  Maria greeted him at the front of the store, gave him a ticket to be turned in for a toy later, and sat him down in  the chair.

IMG00140-20090711-1118

That’s her and him, with Girl protectively looking on.  Once in the chair she blew bubbles and let him blow a few as well.  She was very impressed that he could blow bubbles so well.   I didn’t try and explain that he has a speech therapist who does this with him, nor did I mention that EVERY therapist finds themselves needing to break out the suds every once in a while to calm the boy.

IMG00143-20090711-1128

She then gave him a squeeze toy and put the robe on him.  Penguins rock!  Still, no freakout or tantrum.  We were aided by having his favorite caregiver with us for extra calming.

IMG00144-20090711-1129

She sprayed him with water and began snipping.  It took about 5 minutes, but it came out fine.  At the end while I paid, he had to put the ticket into the machine and it spit out a toy.  You can see him below playing with it.

IMG00147-20090711-1132

A haircut, with no tears or tantrums, and a football too?  Score!

Seriously, we’ll be coming back to SnipIts for his haircuts until he’s 40.  They did a great job and kept me sane.  What more could I ask for?

One Comment leave one →
  1. talesofanunfinishedmom permalink
    July 20, 2009 4:55 pm

    Yay for an easy haircut! I’m so glad it went so smoothly. Haircuts can be traumatizing (for Mom, that is). What a cutie. He looks so grown up with his new “do.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

