Skip to content

London Calling

October 26, 2008

This week finds me in London for RSA Europe.  I’m attending in support of our UK marketing team, and to help launch Bruce Schneier’s new book, which is already tearing up the charts worldwide, thanks to the review on Slashdot (which I refer to as “Oprah for Geeks”). 

I took a day flight for only the second time.  Usually I fly overnight and get into the UK in the morning.  This trip, to save money, I flew Virgin’s premium economy class, and the cheapest flight was the 7am depature from JFK which got into London at 8pm.  It was perfectly pleasant, but the spoiled side of me wondered if I would be as comfortable trying to sleep in one of the seats.

After going to the WRONG Marriott, I found myself comfortably ensconced at the correct hotel, and proceeded to sleep for 10 hours straight.  I also found myself in a time conundrum worthy of Dr. Who.  I lost 5 hours on the trip over, then gained one when the UK went off daylight savings.  I’ll come back and gain 4 hours, and then gain one the following weekend.  Be still my beating 2 hearts…

Sunday was a day off, so I walked…everywhere.  You would think they didn’t have a wonderful public transport system here.  But I’ve been to London so many times that just having 1 day didn’t really cut it.  I did end up at the National Portrait Gallery to see the Annie Leibovitz exhibit (yes, I came all the way here to see a Yank shutterbug) but mostly, I just walked.  I figured based on my Frommer’s map that I topped 5 miles by day’s end.

Tomorrow will find me at the Excel center for the conference.  Wednesday I am heading for our office in Chichester to see some of my UK colleagues, and then I head home on Thursday.  Not a long trip, but hopefully very productive.  Ciao, and cheers!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2008 8:00 pm

    oh bring me a whisper and flake choco bar and some galazy too! I love UK chocolate bars!

  2. October 27, 2008 10:00 am

    So which Marriott did you end up at–Kensington or Grosvenor Square (or another)? I’ve stayed at both in the last two years and much prefer Grosvenor Square. :)

  3. October 28, 2008 10:36 am

    Try to take a little time to walk through Chichester – one of my favorite towns in Sussex , so full of history!

  4. October 28, 2008 5:31 pm

    jealous

  5. October 29, 2008 8:34 am

    I’m quite jealous too. I wish I were walking with you and buying some British chicklit. Love it!

  6. October 30, 2008 5:52 am

    Oh, I adore AL Photography.
    Stellar Soccer game, your little it scored big time and the other one walked uphill with huge applause. Mr.It did it all with grace and humor.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

