Skip to content

So, ummm, what brings you here?

July 29, 2008

We’re going to visit our first of 3 pre-school programs to check them out for “IT-Boy-ness” today.  I had grand plans to put together a huge list of questions to ask everyone at the program, but only mustered about 5.  If anyone has any suggestions for evaluating a program, sort of like a link to a pre-made list that I can cut and paste into my handy-dandy keep track of things spreadsheet, feel free to let me know. 

I get the feeling I’m juts going to stand in the room staring at things, not asking questions.  I hope it doesn’t come to that.  Mr. IT is coming as well, so hopefully he’ll step up to the plate for this one.  I have faith.  He’ll know why we’re here. 

In related family news, Little IT’s swim team had their last meet today, which they won, bringing their record to 4-1 for the summer.  Pretty darn good if you ask me.  She told me yesterday that she LOVES the meets but HATES the practices.  She *might* do the team next summer, but no way would she do one during the school year.  I admit I force her into swimming a bit – she has the perfect shape for it, and she’s kinda good at it.  But her passion isn’t there.  It’s like she said yesterday after I was trying to encourage her to swim by saying that swimming could be her sport.  “How do you know soccer won’t be my sport?  It’s what I want to do.”  Whoa.  Game over.  Soccer it is.  Swimming can wait till she goes to middle school and can swim on their team.  Only if she wants to.  She knows why she’s here, I just have to make sure I listen to her.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2008 1:34 pm

    When we did this last year, I asked about:
    – What a typical day looks like
    – How much playground/active time they get
    – How they would handle a typical discipline situation
    – Naptime / potty training policies
    – Policies on food (do they provide snacks, what would they provide?)
    – How would they teach about Fall (gives you a sense of whether they are more “academic” or “hands on”
    – How long the teachers have been there (high turnover isn’t a good sign) & what inservice training they do
    – What skills they expect by the end of the year (I don’t really care what they say, but this is another one that gives you a sense of how academic vs. hands on they are)
    – Do they take any field trips?
    – I also look around the room. I personally like to see lots of art projects, no tv, no coloring books, and plenty of space for different activities
    – I was never into asking the kindergarden placement question, but that’s probably more important in some cities than others.

    For me personally, preschool is more about playing with other kids and less about any specific skill or activity. I was trying to get a sense of whether it would be a caring, sensitive environment & whether there would be fun, engaging activities each day more than anything else.

    I hope this helps,
    Debbie

  2. Steve permalink
    July 29, 2008 1:52 pm

    Re: Little IT

    I knew there was something about that girl that I liked! :-)
    steve

  3. July 31, 2008 8:13 am

    Aw, but “little IT” really is a good swimmer – and I have the same fight – and lots of moaning and “I can’t” and then she is fine with it when she is there. I think a gentle push is part of parenting. It is all a “push-me-pull-you” sort of thing and knowing what works with out too much pushing.

Trackbacks

  1. after school programs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

