Skip to content

BEA – on the cutting edge

April 27, 2008
tags: ,

Thanks to Lance, the writer behind Mediumatlarge.net, I got a heads-up to check out the schedule of sessions and presentations going on at BookExpo America.  While it’s not exactly going to rival the slate of a conference that’s all about Web 2.0, it does offer many panel sessions that cover social networking and the latest trends in digital publishing. 

In fact, there’s a lot of coverage on things digital, so much so that many of them look over my head.  Which isn’t hard when you know of my loathing for e-books.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not the concept of them that I hate.  I’m actually quite a fan of things “e”.  It’s the discussion of the formats, platforms and standards that gets a big ZZZZZ from me.  People like Joe Wikert live for this stuff, and could debate it till the cows come home.  Not me.   I don’t care how you make it “e”, just make it “e”.  I have a lot of respect for folks in our production groups – not for a minute would I have the patience and attention to detail to do their jobs.  The more marketing focused ones definitely look more my speed. 

Anyhow, if you’re in publishing, be sure to check out the panels.  I think a lot of them will be quite useful.  Plus, they will be an excellent excuse to remove myself from setting up the Wiley booth this go around.  Just don’t tell my co-workers where I will be. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

