Skip to content

I Started Something I Couldn’t Finish

November 12, 2007

I volunteered some time ago to start a blog for Little IT’s brownie troop.  It’s a new thing for the parents, to use a blog for info on upcoming meetings and events, and to see pictures of the aforementioned post event.  So, as you can imagine, our page views are minuscule, especially since it’s locked to all but the parents, but I feel it’s an important activity and will eventually help drag people kicking and screaming into the world of the web.

Recently, the troop participated in a Halloween party.  We had a bunch of pictures, and I said, sure, ok, wonderful, let’s post them to the blog.  Well, on any service, easier said than done.  Usually, I put them up in SmugMugand then put up a hotlink to the SmugMug album. I didn’t want to do that this time. I wanted to have them all listed in the post for people to review right then and there. No time for linking.

Easier said than done, and I was quickly overwhelmed with single and bulk loading of 100 pictures. There has to be a better way.  Looking for an alternative, I tried Flickr, but it too failed me. I didn’t want to pay for an account (even though I gladly do that with SmugMug) so I was limited to the amount of file size that could be uploaded.

Then, I found Slide. I already use it in Facebook, but I didn’t realize until I saw it on another site that you can upload a slideshow to display in a blog post through them. It took no time at all to upload. You can change the captions to not be the file name (I didn’t). There are a myriad of choices for display options (I picked Album) and gimmicky add-ons (I selected none). With one click, they give you the code to upload to Blogger (where the Brownie blog is) and I was on my way! Mission accomplished! The display is pretty decent for little effort, as you can see below. I put my Police show pictures into an album below to demonstrate it’s functionality. I recommend Slide for a quick show that looks decent with very little effort. I’m not really cheating on SmugMug, as I will still use them for most everything else, as the final product is pretty cool, but Slide is good for a quickie.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

